If You Could Have Chosen IF for Your Schooling

Hi, All,

I hope this note finds you well.

If you could have a had some works of IF in your own school work (probably when you were a bit younger), which stories might you have chosen?

When I was eight years old or so, I would have picked “Snack Time” or the earlier sections of “Six,” just because they’re fun for relatively early readers,

When I was eleven or twelve, I think I would have gone for “Arthur: the Quest for Excalibur” and “The Origin of Madame Time.” After all, we probably would have had to study the Arthurian legends anyway, and my friends and I would all have been suckers for superheroes.

For high school classes, I would have picked “Spider and Web” for its cold-war-like intrigue and its wondrous set of problems, and “80 Days,” (for geography, of course).

As an undergraduate, I think I would have liked “Photopia” and “All Hope Abandon” because they’re both complicated in some ways and enjoyable to read.

What do you think? What might you have chosen? Why?

Maybe we could add our responses to the relevant IF Database polls.

Have a great day, everyone, and be well!

Peace,
Brendan Desilets

4 Likes

We actually played Colossal Cave in my 7th grade Science class on Apple][e computers on floppy! I remember also playing Lemonade, and I’m sure Oregon Trail was there too.

Another suggestion might be 80 Days for a literature or geography class, and Suveh Nux or The Gostak for advanced-level language classes (both use inferred imaginary languages as game mechanics).

As recently as last year I’ve had training modules for work that were very close to visual novels in their design. It was a game where we had to find security violations in the workplace and interview NPCs to decide what went wrong in customer interactions.

2 Likes