I7- moving the player

hi, i know this sounds like an easy problem, but im still having a major issue with it. im simply trying to have the PC and a following NPC enter a location, then a cut-scene of sorts occurs with a paused screen, then after space-bar is hit, i want to move both the PC and NPC to a whole new location (not connected at all to the old location). but its totally not working. what happens is the new location’s description occurs with a prompt, but then instantly, the OLD location’s description is printed with a prompt and thats where the game is; in the old room. what the heck am i doing wrong? i could show u the source code, but it really is just as simple as it should be. could it be something wrong with the new location? any initial thoughts or should i definitely show u the source? thanks to anyone with any advice on this! (newbie here)

I think you should show us the relevant part of your source code anyway, because I’m pretty mystified.

hi. ok, here’s the code:

carry out going to Old Room for the first time: say "blah blah blah"; pause the game; clear the screen; say "blah blah blah"; pause the game; move player to New Room; move NPC to New Room.

it seems simple enough to me, and i cant figure out anything in the New Room’s code that could be interfering. HALP!

Have you tried turning on the Rules testing command to see if you can track down what rule is being triggered to move the characters back to Old Room?

Robert Rothman

hey, thanks. again, newbie here, so i appreciate the advice. i will try that out.