[I7] Moving the player and an object RESOLVED

I’m relatively new to the engine, and am attempting to code an adventure as part of a school assignment. I’m creating a simple puzzle, and want the end result to be that when the player attempts a custom action with an object in their inventory, the player and the object are each moved into a separate room.
Basically, the player is on a ship with a cooler and a box hook. The player can take the box hook, but not the cooler, and there’s a custom action the player can take to move the cooler. This results in the player flying backwards off the ship, and the box hook moving to the same area at a different time as a different player character, which is defined as a separate room. (For those who are wondering, the adventure is based off of this article: nytimes.com/2014/01/05/magaz … c=rss&_r=0)
If/then statements don’t seem to work, and I want the game to return a message (but nothing else) if the player doesn’t have the box hook in their inventory.
I haven’t read all of the documentation and examples yet, so I apologize if this is discussed somewhere and I’m being an idiot. I’ve reached chapter 11.16, with some peaking into later chapters to try and figure things out.
Time is currently at a premium for me, as the deadline for at least a presentable and playable demo is by the end of the week.

It’s a good idea to post the relevant parts of your code (using the code tag) so that we can see what the problem is. It’s pretty hard for us to diagnose an issue like ‘If/then statements don’t seem to work’ otherwise.

What’s your current code, specifically te part that you’re having trouble with? If you’ve gotten to 11.16 you should have all the knowledge you need for a basic game like this, don’t worry.

Also, if you’re getting an error message, post that.

A shot in the dark, but the most common problem with if statements is that they don’t have a context. So if you have something like this: