I7: Basic Screen Effects

So I’m trying to make use of Basic Screen Effects by Emily Short. Since I’m completely new to I7, I have no idea how to use it. I want to have one of these old school text boxes in the middle of the screen, press space, and then the game continues. For now I even don’t know how to have the player press space.

When play begins: 
	say "So you've come to hear a story?[paragraph break]".
	pause the game.

That’s my feeble attempt, and it don’t work. Furthermore, any hint on how to do text boxes is appreciated. Summary:

• How do I wait for the player to press space?
  • How do I clear the screen?
  • How do I write a text box?

I’ve read the documentation of Basic Screen Effects, problem is maybe that I got no idea when I may do what under I7. Under I6 it’s just a function call, and I don’t know how to do that under I7.

Thanks!

The last character in the second line of your code should be a semicolon, not a period. Otherwise the rule seems like it should do what you want, according to the Basic Screen Effects documentation.

There’s a section on making a boxed-quotation splash screen in Basic Screen Effects, under the “display the current quotation” section – it relies on “display the boxed quotation,” which is actually part of core I7 (see section 5.12), but it looks like you need BSE to get the quotation to appear and disappear when you want. Here’s the example:

When play begins: display the boxed quotation "What's this room? I've forgotten my compass. Well, this'll be south-south-west parlour by living room. -- Philadelphia Story"; show the current quotation; pause the game.

(though it looked like the tabs were funny to me, and I deleted one layer of tabs but I’m not sure that will work. I’ve never used any of this so I don’t know exactly how to make it work.)

Works, and taught me some basic concepts on the way. Thanks!

There’s also:

Wait for SPACE key;

Which doesn’t display a “Press Space to Continue” prompt, unless you write one.