How would i go about making an image that changes depending on a variable?

hey fellas, so im trying to make it so an image changes in the character creation based on your choices
for example if you choose the class “warrior” the image changes to that of an warrior or if you choose “rogue” it changes to an image of a rogue. i have all the pictures set up already but now i need to figure out how to make the image change. using twine 2.3.9 and sugarcube 2.31.1
I tried playing around with if statements but I couldnt figure it out. I thought it would be important to mention that im a total noob at this and have never used css or html

You might want to start off by taking a look at my “Displaying Images in Twine” sample code (click “Jump to Start” in the UI bar to see other sample code there). That shows you how to make images display properly, both when launched from Twine and when the published HTML is opened, plus it shows you how to use variables to set the images’ filenames.

You could then combine that with the “Simple Update Without Reload” sample code to make it so that they’d see the image update as soon as they changed the character class.

If you’d like it to update with a nice transition, then you could do something like this:

What's is your class?<<set _classes = ["warrior", "rogue", "wizard"]>>
<<listbox "$class">>
	<<optionsfrom _classes>>
<</listbox>>
<span id="class-image"></span>
<<script>>
	$(document).one(":passagerender", function (event) {
		$(event.content).find("#class-image").empty().wiki("[img[" + setup.ImagePath + State.variables.class + ".jpg]]");
		$(event.content).find("select.macro-listbox").on("change", function (event) {
			$("#class-image").fadeOut(500);
			setTimeout(function () {
				$("#class-image").empty().wiki("[img[" + setup.ImagePath + State.variables.class + ".jpg]]").fadeIn(500);
			}, 500);
		});
	});
<</script>>