How to use Unicode characters

Apologies if this is a naive question, I am quite new to TADS, and have never messed with charsets before.

I’ve been trying to figure out how to include a unicode character in my game, but all my attempts result in it simply displaying a question mark. I can insert some characters using the HTML notation, but only up to U+0080 (after this all characters just display as U+0080.) However, I understand that it should be possible to include any unicode character, but I haven’t figured out how to do it. Is there a simple example somewhere of how to include arbitrary unicode characters? I’m using TADS Workbench if that’s relevant.

1 Like

In the preamble at the top of the file, use

#charset "utf-8"

And make sure your source file is encoded correctly.

You can do this on a file by file basis.

2 Likes

The syntax for including Unicode characters in a string literal are documented in the TADS 3 System Manual.

Can you include a code sample of what you’re trying to do? Even if it’s just the string you’re attempting to print, that would help.

2 Likes

My source files are still us-ascii but I’ve used \uxx codes to achieve characters with accents and dieresis etc. (\u00e9 is an “e” with an accent mark)

2 Likes

I have the charset set to utf-8 and I confirmed that that is indeed how the file is encoded. I was trying to use the \uxxxx syntax before, but I’ve played around with it a little more. For example, simply evaluating

"\u00B6 \u00FC \u00FF \u0118 \u0126 \u266A"

will print the first three symbols correctly, the fourth it will print as a regular “E” when it should have a diacritic, and the last two just print question marks. The limit seems to be \u00FF. Is there some extra work that needs to be done to pass this limit, or is it a fundamental limitation of the charset or the compiler or something?

2 Likes