How to style the UI settings buttons - Twine Sugarcube

Twine Version: 2.3.14
Story Format: Sugarcube 2.34.1

Hi everybody, I’ve got what seems like a fairly simple question (I’m a complete novice so hopefully this isn’t just a glaringly obvious answer). I’ve figured out how to change visual “themes” in my CSS stylesheet and JS, but I’m finding that the actual settings buttons in the Sugarcube settings API menu don’t change styles, as well.

Here’s what the settings menu looks like as the default:

Summary

(Sorry, new users can only upload one media image per post, so here’s an imgur link)

And here’s what it looks like when the visual theme is changed in the settings:

Summary

As you can see, the dropdown buttons keep the same font color as the default theme (and same background color when hovered over), rendering them unreadable in the new theme. Does anybody know how I can fix this?

As a bonus question: does anyone know how I can make the dropdown buttons in the settings menu all the same size as each other?

Thank you for your help and time!

1 Like

The trick to figuring these things out is learning how to use your browser’s Developer Tools window.

Simply pull up the thing that you want to style in your browser, then right-click on it, select “Inspect element” (or your browser’s equivalent), and (if necessary) go to the “Elements” tab. Also, if the Developer Tools window is on the side of the screen, you can move it to the bottom by clicking the “…” button in the upper-right of the window and then change the dock side to the bottom.