How to see Coding Issues in editor?

Hi everyone,

When switching over to the new Twine 2.4.0, I’m no longer able to see basic coding visual aids. Sorry if I don’t know the technical term for it, but I’ve included a picture of pre-2.4.0 (which includes BLUE highlighting), 2.4.0 shows zero highlighting and only text. I can no longer see if I’ve completed parenthesis or used the correctly name variable upon clicking. Is there a way to turn this basic code-checking back on or is Harlowe no longer supported in this way? I love the new editor, but this missing functionality makes it near impossible to use.

If anyone is like WHY I’m using Harlowe 1.2.4, I’ve been using TWINE for several years now to make a board game and locked the language down years ago. Go buy a copy of My Father’s Work, lol.

Twine Version: 2.4.0 (web)
Story Format: Harlowe 1.2.4

1 Like

Couldn’t add this to the topic above (new user), so including a picture of the current version on TWINE and what it displays here. Thanks!

Pre Twine v2.4.0 there was no official method for adding Story Format specific features like Syntax Highlighting or custom Toolbars to the GUI application.

So a hack was done to the Code Editor widget being used by the Passage Editor window to expose the internals of that widget and Harlowe was modified to make use of that hack to add these types of features.

Twine v.2.4.x was rewritten using a different set of frameworks, and a formal method of implementing features like those mentioned previously was added for the usage of the Story Format Developers.

Harlowe v3.x was updated to use this formal method, however older discontinued series of Harlowe (like 1.x and 2.x) were not. And this is why the v1,2,4 of Harlowe you are using no longer has those features in Twine v2.4.x