How to make door openable after talking to two characters?

I am starting off with the player in a car with two NPCs. I want the car door to be unopenable until the player has TALKED TO both characters.

I have attempted using IF statements but keep getting errors, maybe because there are two conditions?

Having trouble finding this in the Recipe Book. I am very new to Inform 7, so I really appreciate any input

When you’re asking these sorts of questions, it’s helpful if you post the relevant parts of what code you currently have at the moment (working or otherwise) – use the </> button so that the forum doesn’t mess up the formatting.

This can both serve to help illustrate your problem as well as make it more likely that people will frame their answers in terms of the particular objects you’re using in your code, making it more immediately applicable.

For this specific question, there are a number of ways that things can be done.

The simplest is to initially declare the car door as locked, and then in the rule where you’re responding to the talk to action, say something like now the car door is unlocked. (A locked door with no matching key can only be unlocked by you, not the player.)

For sweeping changes to the world based on triggering actions, you could also look into using something like scenes.

Either way, you’re going to have to have some way to keep track of which people have been spoken to and which haven’t. There are many different ways to do this as well – and which makes more sense may depend whether these are throwaway characters only used in this scene or if there’ll be extended interactions with them throughout the course of the story.

Writing with Inform and the Recipe Book do attempt to make a gentle introduction to Inform but you do have to get a fair way into them (and play with several of the examples) before they’re much help writing an original work. It does get easier once you’re used to the conventions, of course.