How to implement the acsess to the next text by inputing a word?

If you are requesting technical assistance with Twine, please specify:
Twine Version: 2.3.14
Story Format: Harlowe 3.2.2.

Hello!

I’m an English teacher, and I’m trying to implement gamefication to the education of my students.

I want to make a little game a.k.a. dungeon-crawler, and I thought about 2 options:

1. A student finishes their homework and get a number\word to open a new text paragrahp of the story.
  2. A student finishes their homework and get a number\word to open a new choice\action in the story.

I’m not a gamedev and I think it’ll take a plenty of time until I find that option in cookbookes)

I’d much oblidged to you for help!

There are a number of ways to track if something has occurred during the play-though of a project, one of the simplest is to use a Boolean variable.

1: Use the (set:) macro to initialise the Boolean variable to its default state.
(Generally done within your project’s startup tagged Passage.)

(set: $hasLamp to false)

2: Update the current state of the Boolean variable then the “thing” has occurred.

(link: "Get Lamp")[(set: $hasLamp to true)]

3: Use one of the (if:) family of macros to conditionally do something based on the current true or false state of the Boolean variable.

<!-- To check for true -->
(if: $hasLamp)[You see the contents of the room.]

<!-- To check for false -->
(unless: $hasLamp)[It is too dark to see!]

(if: not $hasLamp)[It is too dark to see!]

In the use-case where you want to do one of two possible things you would use a structure like the following…

(if: $hasLamp)[You see the contents of the room.]
(else:)[It is too dark to see!]

The validation of end-user input is a little more complex, especially within Harlowe which allows limited usage of JavaScript to force the end-user to enter a correct data-type.

Harlowe has two basic methods for allowing the end-user to enter a value:

1: The (prompt:) macro.