How to hide objects from player

Hello guys! I’m very new to Inform 7 and would like to ask a question.

Is there a way to hide objects, let’s just say, under a table? I tried googling the way and I found this, but it doesnt seem to work.

A banana is hidden in the kitchen.

Instead of looking under the table for the first time:
    reveal the banana;
    say "You find a banana!"

Apparently, Inform seems to have troubles with ‘A banana’ and ‘hidden in the kitchen’.

This is what it says. Problem. The sentence ‘A is hidden in the bed’ appears to say two things are the same - I am reading ‘key’ and ‘hidden in the bed’ as two different things

Is there anything I can do about it? Feedback is appreciated and sorry if the answer is simpler than it seems! :slight_smile:

The easiest way is not to have it in that location at all until it’s revealed.

There is a banana. [This places it "off-stage" until we move it somewhere else.]
Instead of looking under the table when the banana is off-stage:
    say "There seems to be a banana under the table.";
    move the banana to the kitchen.

There is no “hidden” relation in Inform by default. You’d have to define it. Possibly you found some sample code for an extension that has to be included?

You want Krister Fundin’s extension “Hidden Items”.

Ok, thx so much for yr help! I did as you said and it works nicely :smiley:

Apparently, I have that extension in my program, but it still doesnt work. Maybe it’s outdated?

Could be, but it’s never been very useful except for edge cases like doors. Moving revealed items in place from off-stage is what’s commonly used.