How to create a chatbot style story in Twine

Hello Im new to twine.
Im creating a story (non-linear) that simulates a chatbot
In twine you will be taken to another passage when you click the link
Im trying to preserve the previous passage that goes up the page once a new passe is displayed (Link selected).
Not sure where to look at to achieve this.
Hope someone can help.
Thank you in advance.

Hi Andlen!

I’m not sure what kind of effect you’re trying for. Could you post an example of what you’d like the output to look like?

There are lots of different ways to write chatbots. How best to do it depends on a lot of things, primarily what exactly you need it to be able to do in your game.

If you’re interested, I outlined one method in this r/twinegames thread: “Making a default “I don’t understand” response to the player’s typing”

Also, I showed how you could add a textbox for entering text to the bottom of the screen in this post: “How to make a textbox fill the width of the screen?”

Hope that helps! :slight_smile:

I don’t see anywhere you’ve clarified which story format you’re using, but if I interpretted your question right and you’re using SugarCube, you can do something like this:

First of all, you’ll want a variable - an Array - to store the titles of the passages the player has already had displayed to them. That way, everything they’ve already seen will apear when they load a saved game or refresh the page in the browser.

Create a passage with the name StoryInit and make sure spelling and capitalization is exact. In this passage, along with anything else you want to set up the first time a user starts a brand new game, create an array something like this:

<<set $Visited = []>>

Then, to achieve the effect you want for story progression, you’ll probably want to use a “Master” passage which the user will remain on throughout the game and use the <<include PassageName>> macro to display the other passages:

The main passage would look something like this: