How to change the implicit opening a door default phrase?

Hi everyone,

I’m new to the world of IF, so please be patient with me :smiley:
How can I change the “(first opening [the noun])” default phrase in IF7? I’d like to translate it in my own language.

Thanks for your help!

There are a few ways.

You could replace this rule:

Check an actor going (this is the can't go through closed doors rule): if the door gone through is not nothing and the door gone through is closed: issue library message going action number 28 for the door gone through; silently try the actor opening the door gone through; if the door gone through is open, continue the action; stop the action.

Or you could use one of the various levels of library-message-replacement extensions that are available now. The simplest one is probably Default Messages by Ron Newcomb. You’d use it like this:

Table of custom library messages (continued) library-action library-message-id library-message-text the going action 28 "(recklessly slamming the door open before you proceed)"

If you have a specific door that should behave differently from the others, you might use a Before or Instead rule:

Before going through the closed blue door: say "You push cautiously against the door... [run paragraph on]"; silently try opening the blue door; if the blue door is open, say "it opens!"; otherwise stop the action.

First of all, many thanks for your answers.

I think I’ve understood how the second method works (while the first remains a mistery for now :blush: ); unfortunately I’m already using the Italian extension by Massimo Stella, which seems to be incompatible with Default Messages by Ron Newcomb (that’s because Italian is based on Custom Library Messages by David Fisher).

I’ve no idea about how to modify a default message there.

Italian extension uses this syntax:

Table of library messages (continued) Message Id Message Text LibMsg <report implicit take> "(prima prendi [the % dobj])"