How can I kill the player?

I’m new to IF games as well as programming them and I’m wondering how I would go about killing the player. I’ve read the manual and can’t find it anywhere in there.

Thanks in advance,

Carry.

Used to be you would say something like this:

Crippen's Bakery is a room. A poisonous cake is an edible thing in Crippen's bakery. Instead of eating the poisonous cake: say "That was dumb."; end the game in death.

Now the preferred way to do it is to say “end the story,” thus:

Crippen's Bakery is a room. A poisonous cake is an edible thing in Crippen's bakery. Instead of eating the poisonous cake: say "That was dumb."; end the story saying "You have died".

And of course you can change what’s in the quotes to a more, um, flavorful death message if you like.

When I need to kill the player, I generally use a pointed stick.

OK, I intend on killing the player with a pack of wolfs, how could I do that?

Crippen's Bakery is a room. A poisonous cake is an edible thing in Crippen's bakery. Instead of eating the poisonous cake: say "As soon as you touch the cake a pack of ravenous wolves crashes into the bakery and devours you!"; end the story saying "You have died".
But seriously, you need to be a bit more specific. What have you tried and what kind of situation are you thinking of exactly?

Ahem, you should make this “Instead of taking the cake,” or “get cake/eat cake” will yield an incongruous message.

…but yeah, it depends on what you specifically want to do.

I have a forest, ‘Northern Forest’ it’s call, and I just want the player to die if and when he/she enters it. But I think it would be better if it only happened say…10% of the time? I don’t know if you can do that…

Sure, that’s no problem:

[code]Safe Meadow is a room. “This meadow is entirely safe. The forest to the north is reportedly infested by dangerous wolves.” Northern Forest is north of Safe Meadow. “This forest looks very dangerous and probably wolf-infested!”