Hobby partner(s) for audiogame

Hi All, new to this forum. I’m interested in making an audiogame based on a text adventure. One possibility is using Inform7, but I have no experience with it. The I7 game would be integrated with UE5/Unity that would provide audio support and the UI. Another approach would require rewriting a command parser, and all it takes to make a text adventure directly in UE5/Unity. If you know how to write a text adventure (I7 or directly in code) and want to discuss and/or participate in this experiment please DM me. Project is for hobby. Cheers,

3 Likes

Could you elaborate on what you mean by “audiogame”. For example, do you mean a traditional IF game with audio, or do you mean a game using audio and not text. And are you referring to “audio” for input, output or both?

1 Like

Hello jy, In my intentions audio should consist of voice-acted dialogues, ambience, sfx, and music. In theory, audio could replace completely text on screen (although I’d keep it to leave a trace of the sequence of events as played). In many respects, the result would be like a radio-drama, but with added interactivity. Audio would be the main output of the game, but also commands could be based on speech recognition. Cheers,

That’s an interesting premise. I’ve had multiple interactions with vision-impaired players of my narrative games, and they are always very happy for the text-to-voice support built into Android. A game where the playing experience for them is first-class will be popular with that demographic. For players without that disability, though, you’d have some challenges to deal with.