History of TADS

For the IF Code Amnesty Day, I’m putting together an archive of an old game I half-wrote and then abandoned. To explain the context of the game, I’m writing a short history and am curious if people can fill me in on some of the history of TADS.

I have extensive notes from when I started writing the game, which was January 2004. I believe the notes are dependable, but it’s been nearly two decades so a bunch of the details I don’t remember.

It appears I started to write it in ADRIFT at the start of January 2004, threw that away and started with TADS 2. Later in January 2004, I threw away the TADS 2 code to use WorldClass, which appears to be a different TADS 2 library, by Dave Baggett. I have no knowledge of it, and found a reference to in in SPAG #5.

Apparently mid-March 2004 I threw the WorldClass code away and started in TADS 3. Weirdly, IF Wiki claims the first beta release of TADS 3 was September 2004. What was I using?!

In May 2004, I wrote I was betatesting Return to Ditch Day (which IF Wiki confirms).

I worked on Convolution extensively throughout 2004 until mid-September and then I went on a hiatus. The discussion in my notes that year seems to cover a fairly extensive TADS 3 adv3 library, so I feel like it must have been out of beta.

Can anyone remember WorldClass? When was TADS 3 actually released?

6 Likes

I’d love to learn more about the history of TADS! The more I dig into the library, the more awe I have! :smile: Hopefully someone has the knowledge to share with us!

3 Likes

I feel that way… when I comb through the adv3 library extensively I feel like I’m beholding the workings of a truly marvelous machine…

3 Likes

TADS 3 Change History doesn’t give a release date for the first version of TADS3, but it does give a date for TADS 3.0.1 of June 17th, 2000.