Hiding an object under something

Hi folks! Newbie here, trying to write an Easter game for the kids. Currently stuck on hiding an egg under a bench. Am I missing something simple? Guessing it’s something related to the egg having location “out of play”. First bit is from #233 in the Recipe Book:

Underlying relates various things to one thing. The verb to underlie means the underlying relation. The verb to be under means the underlying relation. The verb to be beneath means the underlying relation.

Instead of looking under a thing which is underlaid by something (called the lost object):
	say "You find [the list of things which underlie the noun]!";
	now every thing which underlies the noun is carried by the player;
	now every thing which underlies the noun does not underlie the noun.

Instead of taking something undescribed:
	say "You don't see any such thing."

A bench is a supporter in Arrow.

A spotted egg is an object. The description is "A spotted egg with a ribbon around it. It looks like someone hid it here for you to find." The spotted egg is undescribed.

The spotted egg is under the bench. The description of the bench is "A beautiful wooden bench in the shape of an arrow beckons you.[if the spotted egg is under the bench] You notice something under it.[end if]"

Instead of looking under the bench:
	if the spotted egg is under the bench:
		say "You bend down and find a spotted egg under the bench!";
		now the spotted egg is described;
	otherwise:
		say "You don't see anything interesting under the bench."

After taking the spotted egg:
	increase the score by 10;

Here’s what I get:

Arrow Bench
An attractive spot shaded by a few short but dedicated trees.

You can see a bench here.

>x bench
A beautiful wooden bench in the shape of an arrow beckons you. You notice something under it.

>look under bench
You bend down and find a spotted egg under the bench!

>get egg
You can't see any such thing.

>showme spotted egg
spotted egg - thing