Hiding an object in a bowl of soup

Hi all,

I’m just getting started, and I’ve run into a real stumper for me. Essentially, what I want to do I think is pretty simple, but I’ve been searching for how to use things like concealment, hiding, found/unfound, etc. and none of them seem to be what I’m looking for.

Essentially, I have a puzzle which involves finding a ring. The ring is hidden in a bowl, so I want to make it so that the player has to eat the bowl of clam chowder in order to discover there’s a ring there. But right now, the presence of the ring is revealed (it says there’s a bowl containing soup and a ring).

So, I’m wondering, what’s the best way to do this? I tried to come up with a sort of kludge, where the game wouldn’t let you just dig into the soup for the ring without eating it first (which requires the player finding a spoon through another puzzle).

I’ve been trying to go through lots of examples but can’t seem to find anything quite relevant to this. A bowl of soup with an object hidden in an opaque liquid that would only be revealed once the soup is eaten (or I could perhaps let the player pour the bowl of soup out, but that would be messy).

I have a similar puzzle with a plate of salad (another object is hidden underneath some salad, which the player has to eat after finding a fork), so I figure I’d be able to solve this the same way.

Thanks!

-Zadillo

Usually the best way to implement hidden objects is to use the “deciding the concealed possessions of somethinig” activity (Chapter 17.9).

[code]The bowl is an open, unopenable container.

Some soup is in the bowl. A ring is in the bowl.

Rule for deciding the concealed possessions of the bowl:
if the partucular possession is the ring and the soup is in the bowl, yes;
otherwise no.[/code]

The ring remains invisible and unreferable-to as long as the soup is in the bowl. You set up the parameters for how to get the soup out of the bowl however you like: