"Her Story" search-term style game with Twine

Hiya, I am new to Twine (using the latest versions!) I want to make a “Her Story” style game where the player types in search terms. Based on what I’ve read and seen it feels like it should be possible, but maybe I’m trying to fit a square peg in a round hole? Here’s what I want in my game:

1. Everything do-able with keyboard, no mouse required.
  2. To navigate to another page, the player types in a word or phrase.
  3. The player can go from any one page to any other page by using the above method.
  4. Previous pages are easy to navigate to or review (stretch-text, maybe?)

How can I easily accomplish this with Twine? Should I look into different software?

1 Like

Here’s an example that uses Sugarcube.

Step 1. Use the textbox feature for navigation. You can copy and paste this manually in the relevant passage, or include it at the bottom of each passage in a passage titlled PassageFooter.

<<textbox "$var" "" "Redirect">>

Step 2. In the passage titled Redirect, create a system that refers users to another page based on the text entered.

We also want to make sure that this is not case sensitive so we will convert the input to uppercase before checking.

<<if $var.toUpperCase() eq "DOG">><<goto "All About Dogs">>
<<elseif $var.toUpperCase() eq "CAT">><<goto "All About Cats">>
<<else>><<goto "Not Found">>
<<endif>>

Step 3. Create the passages that are referred to above (eg. All About Dogs), just as you would in a regular Twine game. If you have a central hub page with the search box, you should give players a way to get back there.

Step 4. Optionally, you can force the text box to always be in focus by creating a script passage with this code. Whenever someone types, the box will start displaying text.

function setFocusjquery() {
  $('#textbox-var').focus();
}

$(document).keydown(function() {
 setFocusjquery();
});