Help with space in visual layout

Twine Version: 2.8.1
[story format Harlowe, as far as I can tell!]

Hi all,
I am afraid I need some help.

I have written and laid out a text using a LaTeX editor. This gives me an HTML code that Twine does not seem to comprehend.

For example, this composition

is the result of the code

\hspace{30mm}(let it\vfill
\hspace{10mm}swing \vfill
\hspace{80mm}you\vfill
\hspace{50mm}gently.)\vfill

(I am a beginner in all of these, so bear with me if the above is not quite right).

I am trying to make the text more interactive by pouring it into Twine, and so far, so good, but I am missing ways to control the creation of space on the screen, like in the screenshot above.

I have figured out I can mess around with columns and whatnot, but this will not solve the myriad of compositions I’d like to transfer.

Would you have any tips?
Thanks so very much!

1 Like

To get this, you can use HTML/CSS

<span style="margin-left:1em">30mm}(let it</span>
swing
<span style="text-align: right">you</span>
<span style="margin-left:2em">50mm}gently.)</span>

(adjust as needed, could be div instead of span)

Or use the Harlowe alignment markup:
https://twine2.neocities.org/#markup_aligner

There are also a bunch of general styling option starting from this paragraph:
https://twine2.neocities.org/#macro_align

1 Like

If I understand your problem right — absolute positioning — this is a hard problem to solve in HTML. Depending on the context and, although it’s text handling is a little on the primitive side, I might suggest doing this with nested SVG instead. For example.

1 Like

thanks so much for this, I have tried it out and I can see the 30mm and the 50mm on the visible text, but I will see how to mess with it.
Fabulous leads - thank you!

2 Likes

Thank you!
Even finding the right forum threads has been hard, because I am not sure what to call what I need, so this is great to have.
Thanks so much!

1 Like