Help with permanent settings options

Hey! This is my first time making a forum, so I’m sorry if it’s weird or hard to understand.

I have a string in my game at the very first passage that says:

<>

When I playtest my game starting from this passage, on the UI bar, the options menu shows and the stuff inside the options tab appear. But when I try to open the game on a different passage, the options disappear, and I’m assuming that is because the options only show on this passage, and I have to somehow put it in the CSS.

The thing is though, when I tried to put this exact same string into the CSS, I get errors on

“Content Settings”, “You must refresh your page to see changes.”

“allowAdultContent”

label: “Allow Adult Content:”

Does anyone know why? And could anyone help me put it as a CSS?

1 Like

Your code isn’t showing on the forum, but try putting whatever code you have in the Start passage in the StoryInit passage instead.

Both passages have to be titled exactly that.

(Code in the StoryInit passage is executed no matter which passage the game starts from. Code in the Start passage is only executed when you visit that passage.)

I tried to copy and paste my code into a passage called “StoryInit” but when I playtest it, I get a notification saying that there isn’t a closing statement for “script”, even though at the end of the string I have “/script” already.

If you can, please post all of the code that you’re inserting into StoryInit. There are many possible causes for the error message that you’ve reported, although an overlooked typo is common.

To ensure that readers of the post can see the code, type three back-ticks ``` on the preceding and subsequent lines. On most U.S. keyboards, the “back-tick” character (`) is in the upper-left corner of the keyboard, on the same key as the tilde (~), but not shifted. The code you post will then look something like this:

```
<<script>>
  /* javascript stuff here; */
<</script>

<<set $InitVariable=5.0>>
```