Help with a project

I am working on a final project for my English 871 course on Digital Literature, and I really want to make a piece of interactive fiction. I am brand new to creating it (I have engaged with a few pieces through the confines of my coursework, though), and I feel like I am falling short in a few areas.

I am trying to create ask commands, and I built the table, but when you go to try and actually test the commands, the piece responds saying that [the noun] has better things to do. One thing I want to ask about is an item an NPC is carrying. I’d also like to ask the NPC about itself and about another person who is not in the room. I thought I programmed these correctly in the table, but I must be wrong.

Another thing I am having issues with is: I would like the player not to be able to leave a room without picking up certain items. I tried implementing a rule, but that doesn’t seem to have worked, either.

Thank you for any advice you might have, as this contributes to one of my PhD level courses. I really want to see this project flourish!

Could you please post your code? We’ll be better able to figure out where you’re going awry that way.

[code]The Parlor is a room.

Your grandmother is a woman in the parlor. Your grandmother is carrying a book.

The description of the book is “You know you’ve seen that book before, but you cannot quite remember where.”

Your grandfather is a man.

A person has a table name called the questions table.
The questions table of your grandmother is the Table of Your Grandmother.

Table of Your Grandmother
Topic Reply