Help needed. How do i set a temp variable with a random variable from a list

Twine Version: 2.8

Im an absolute beginner when it comes to programing and need help with some code for my game. Im wanting to have some random events happen at the end of game turn. I created a list with some event names “alpha, beta, delta and echo”

I want the code to select one of these at random and then go to the appropriate passage. Im not wanting to use a number field as I want to be able to add events based on conditions and choices elsewhere in the game.

Im using the following code on start

<<set $eventlist = [ "alpha", "bravo", "delta", "echo" ]>>

and then later

<<set _tempoccurlist to (either: $eventlist)>>

<<if $tempoccurlist.includesAny("alpha")>> <<goto alpha>>
<<if $tempoccurlist.includesAny("beta")>> <<goto beta>>
<<if $tempoccurlist.includesAny("delta")>> <<goto delta>>
<<if $tempoccurlist.includesAny("echo")>> <<goto echo>>
<</if>>

and it keeps only sending me to the passage delta and is not randomising it. Any idea why and how i fix it.

Thanks

You need either($eventlist) rather than (either: $eventlist).

Did you switch from Harlowe to Sugarcube? If so, you should be aware that the macros aren’t interchangeable. It’s probably best to treat it like it’s a whole different authoring system.

To be honest ive been grabbing code from whereever I can find it and i dont know enough to tell the difference.

I’ve tried what you suggested and I’m still having the same problem. It always sends me to delta.

Okay, well, as long as you keep doing that you’re not going to be able to make anything functional. You either need to take some time to familiarize yourself with Sugarcube or at least only use markup that was clearly labeled as Sugarcube when posted. Usually people do specify.

Anyway, the random bit of Harlowe markup jumped out at me, but there are a number of other problems here.