Help creating a fullbody character picture with the hair overlaping the clothing/body

Twine Version: 2.3.16
Story Format: Sugarcube 2.36.1

So, in my game the player can choose hair styles and clothing and in the character page they can see the fullbody picture of their character. I am an artist so I am drawing the hairs and clothing myself.

The hair is chosen in the beginning of the game (there are 3) and the clothing the player can buy during the game.

All the clothing pictures are from the neck down and the hair picture are of the head. My question is, how do I show the fullbody character with the hair/head pictures on top of the clothing/body pictures based on which outfit the player is using at the moment?

PS: english is not my native language so forgive me if I said something weird or confusing.

1 Like

If I understand correctly you want to show two pictures, one for the head and one for the body. They should not be separated. Also you want to be able to show different head pictures, and also different body pictures.

You can manage with styles, <div></div> elements and variables.

In your style sheet you can create two classes, one for the head and one for the full body. For instance:

.head {
  position: absolute;
  left: 400px;
  top: 250px;
}

.fullbody {
  top: 450px;
}

What’s important is that the “top:” property of the “fullbody” style minus the “top:” property of the “head” style is exactly the height of your image. Above the example assumes a 200 pixel height (450px and 250px).

At any point in your story you can set $head and $fullbody to be exactly what you need.
For instance:

<<set $head to "images/head_long_brown,.png">>
<<set $body to "images/body_redshirt.png">>

All you now need is to place, in whatever passage you need:

<div class="head">[img[$head]]</div>
<div class="fullbody">[img[$body]]</div>

If I’ve understood wrongly, don’t hesitate to rephrase your request and I’ll try to offer a more appropriate answer.

1 Like