Hello

Hi everyone

I have been dipping in and out of this site for nearly a year now but I have never introduced yelf.

My name is Dave, I am 26 years old and originally from Wales but I live in Norway now.

I am fairly new to IF but I have played 3 or 4 games this year and have reviewed them on IFDB.

I plan to increase the amount IF I play, I have fallen in love with it. Who knows, I may even write one someday, I have enough stories in my head.

Thank you all so much for making me feel welcome, and for your inspiration!

Croeso Octofuzz! You decided that Wales wasn’t cold and wet enough for your tastes so you upped sticks, I can understand.

You should definitely try your hand at writing IF- maybe write something for a speed-if challenge some time?

I’ll second that! The ultimate not numbered New Year’s Speed IF is up and running at the moment! You might want to give that a go.

Impressed by the Welsh there Joey! Dda Iawn! I moved here to try something new whilst was young enough and mad enough lol.

I might give some speedy IF writing a go. I have no experience as of yet using development tools like Inform. What ‘tools’ would you recommend I use to write a game, and how long do you think it would take me to get the basics of it?

Thank you for your advice everyone!

What tool to use depends very much on your tastes. I used to study logic and I learned a bit of Pascal way back, so I was able to jump into using a programming language without too great a trouble. I started by helping out with a friend’s project, and as he was using Inform 7 that’s the one I learned. But if you’d rather use a GUI, then there are systems like Adrift and Quest which perhaps offer a less steep learning curve than Inform or TADS (though, with the documentation and ready help on the forum, most beginner problems can quickly be solved with these more popular systems).