Harlowe 3.1 background images?

Hey, I’m fairly new to Twine and I’m having difficulty applying background images to my story. I’m going into the stylesheet and typing in the following;

body[data-tags~="[Tag name]"] {
background-image: url([URL here]);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-size: cover;
}

I’ve made sure the proper page I’d like to apply it to is tagged correctly but I’m not sure if I’m missing something or if I’m using code for another format. I’m using Harlowe 3.1.0

1 Like

Please use the Preformatted text option in the toolbar when supplying code/CSS examples, it makes them easier to read and to copy-n-paste.

You can use your web-browser’s Web Developer Tools to Inspect the HTML elements that make up the current page when you’re viewing your Story HTML file. If you do this for a Passage that has been assigned a banana Passage Tag the HTML structure would look something like the following.

<body>
  <tw-story tags="banana">
    <tw-passage tags="banana">
      <tw-sidebar>
        <tw-icon tabindex="0" class="undo" title="Undo" style="visibility: hidden;">↶</tw-icon>
        <tw-icon tabindex="0" class="redo" title="Redo" style="visibility: hidden;">↷</tw-icon>
      </tw-sidebar>

<!-- the contents of the current Passage would appear here... -->

</tw-passage>
  </tw-story>
</body>

As you can see the banana Passage Tag was added as a tags attribute of the <tw-story> and <tw-passage> elements.

So there are two reasons why your body[data-tags~="[Tag name]"] CSS selector is not working:

1. You are targeting the wrong element. eg, body instead of tw-story.
  2. You are targeting the wrong attribute. eg. data-tags instead of tags.

note: It is likely that the example you based your CSS selector on was meant for SugarCube and not Harlowe.

Changing your selector be like the following should solve your issue.

tw-story[tags~="TAG-NAME"] {
	background-image: url("IMAGE-URL");
	background-repeat: no-repeat;
	background-size: cover;
}
1 Like