Good narrative games for showing college professors

I’m looking into organizing an IF club at my university (where I’m an instructor). I’m thinking about having two advisors – one computer science (me) and one English/Creative Writing/Whatnot, but I don’t know any English/Writing types. I’d like to solicit suggestions from you all about what choice-based narrative games would be good for introducing a college professor in one of these fields to IF. I’d imagine something grown up yet accessible, focussing on narrative first. Or if you have other ideas, I’d like to hear them!

Thanks!

10 Likes

Well, I feel like Queenlash would appeal to many literature professors, but it might be a bit much for a first time out.

Harmonia is both well-written and about academia, although whether the latter is more often a plus or a minus for professors I’m not sure. The interactive aspects are very accessible.

The Absence of Miriam Lane is a well-regarded recent game that felt pretty literary to me. In the back half of the game I did sometimes find it hard to figure out what I should be doing gameplay-wise, but that might just have been me.

The Spectators is excellent and also based on a commonly taught poem, which could possibly intrigue professors with the potential for New Ways for Students to Engage with Literature, but it is parser-based, which is less accessible.

Photopia comes up a lot in discussions like these. I didn’t personally love it, but a lot of people do. It is also parser-based, but heavily involves menu-based conversation, which makes it a bit easier to get into.

There’s also Emily Short—most of the games of hers that I particularly like are parser-based, but Bee or First Draft of the Revolution could work.

I could probably come up with more suggestions if I kept poking through my IFDB history, but I don’t have time at the moment—maybe later.

12 Likes

Choice of Games seems to be positioned as literary product, especially with their high word count.

4 Likes