Going Fishing

I’m a relative newbie at IF, trying to find an example somewhere in Inform 7 of how to fish a key out of a vent using fishing rod. Any help is most most welcome! :open_mouth:

Edwin
http://www.edwinmcrae.com

I don’t think there’s an example that’s exactly about fishing things with other things, but basically you would need to create a new action (chapter 12.7. in the manual) for fishing stuff with the rod, and you would need to prevent the player from taking the key without the rod (Instead of taking; see ch. 7.2). What have you tried and where are you having problems?

Fishing is an action applying to one thing. Understand “fish for/out [something]” and “fish for/out [something] with rod” as fishing. [INCLUDE OTHER UNDERSTANDS]

Check fishing:
if the player does not carry the rod, say “You have nothing to fish with.” instead.

Carry out fishing:
if the noun is the key and the key is in the grate, say “You fish out the key.”;
now the player carries the key.

Instead of taking something which is in the grate, say “You can’t reach.”

You’ll also need a default response for fishing out other things with the rod. I’d put fishing the key under a check condition:

Check fishing:
if the noun is the key and the key is in the grate, say “You fish out the key.”;
now the player carries the key instead.

And use something generic for “carry out”:

Carry out fishing:
say “You can’t fish [that-those]!”.

(You’d need Plurality to do [that-those] - otherwise, you’ll need to come up with a generic refusal.)

Consider also that people may want to fish wish, fish in, fish around, etc. You’ll need to add these clauses for a smooth play experience.

Something like this (not compiled - sorry!) would properly address the situation when someone types >FISH IN GRATE (assuming you’ve added the appropriate “understand” clauses.)

Check fishing a container:
if there is something in the noun:
try fishing a random thing in the noun instead.