Giving NPCs attitudes toward topics of conversation

I’m a newbie trying to give Inform 7 non-player characters attitudes toward subjects of conversation. That is, for each subject of conversation, I want my npcs to have only one of five possible attitudes toward it that will determine how they respond to questioning on the subject, so any character can like, dislike, love, hate or be indifferent to any subject. I understand I can implement the loving relation, but what I want to do is establish that if Lois loves Superman she can’t also hate Superman: one attitude automatically precludes the other. So I’ve been trying to get something like this to work:

Attitude is a variable relating people to various subjects. An attitude can be hostile, suspicious, indifferent, friendly, and adoring. A person’s attitude to any subject is usually indifferent. Lois loves Superman. Clark loves Lois. Lex is indifferent to Clark.

Instead of asking Lois about Superman:

if Lois loves the subject of Superman, say “‘He’s dreamy.’”

I know the above is too imprecise to work, but I also figure I’m trying to reinvent the wheel here anyway and that there is an existing extension that does this. Does anyone know what it’s called?

2 Likes

You may want to look at “Mood Variations” by Emily Short. http://inform7.com/extensions/Emily%20Short/Mood%20Variations/index.html

Though it sounds like you’re just writing different responses for different characters on varying subjects without having them change their attitude depending on their mood.

• I suggest using an After rule rather than Instead so normal parsing rules will apply.
  • If Lois’s attitude about a subject doesn’t change, you don’t really need the if - unless, for example, her attitude about the subject changes depending on another factor - like what order the questions are asked in, or if the player can upset her before asking.
1 Like

Hanon beat me to the punch. I was going to suggest checking out this part of the Recipe Book.