Extra line return with "to say"

This has been driving me bonkers ever since I started coding with Inform 7:

The foobar is a thing. The foobar can be foo or bar. The description is "[foobar-desc]".

To say foobar-desc:
	if the foobar is foo:
		say "Foo.";
	otherwise:
		say "Bar."

This results in an extra line return after the description text and before the next command line, every single time. Clearly I’m doing something wrong, but if so it’s well-hidden in the documentation.

(And yes, I know that in a simple case like this I can do the if/then in the description field itself without resorting to “To say.” There are times that’s not possible, though, and for those I keep running into that extra-line bug.)

3 Likes

There are smart ways to fix this and dumb ways – the smart ways are too hard for me, so I’d just do the dumb way which is to add an extra space after the periods:

To say foobar-desc:
	if the foobar is foo:
		say "Foo. ";
	otherwise:
		say "Bar. "
7 Likes

That’s so dumb, it’s downright idiotic! But works perfectly — thanks so much.

2 Likes

Another option is to keep the period at the top level:

The foobar is a thing. The foobar can be foo or bar. The description is "[foobar-desc].".

To say foobar-desc:
	if the foobar is foo:
		say "Foo";
	otherwise:
		say "Bar";

This is still pretty dumb, and also turns into a headache if you want one of the options to end with a question mark or other punctuation. But it works a lot of the time.

6 Likes

You can include “[no line break]” at the end of each alternative. See 5.8. Line breaks and paragraph breaks.

To say foobar-desc:
	if the foobar is foo:
		say "Foo.[no line break]";
	otherwise:
		say "Bar.[no line break]".

Or, as zarf wrote while I was typing this, assuming all alternatives end with a full stop, you can of course also put the full stop at the end of the overall description and leave it out of the individual alternatives:

The description is "[foobar-desc].".

To say foobar-desc: