Exporting a variable to excel/anything

Hi all,

I’m really new to using Twine, hence this may be a newbie question (or just irrelevant). I’m using Twine Harlowe as a research tool for my master’s thesis. At a certain point during the study, participants will be directed to the Twine story in which they interact with a fictional robot. They either get the option to respond friendly and encouraging, or mean and dismissive (I’m trying to measure antisocial behaviour).

I’ve created THE most basic variable to keep track of what choices users are making. At the start of the story, I’ve set a variable $count to 0. If participants make a friendly choice, $count goes up by 1. If participants make an antisocial choice, $count goes down by 1.

Easy enough, right?

Problem is, I absolutely need a way to export whatever the value of $count is by the end of the story, since it’s integral to the research design, and I would hate to have to rely on participants to report whatever number they got (or obfuscate it with some symbol or colour and have them report that). It introduces too much encertainty.

I’ve browsed this forum quite a bit, I asked my flatmate who studies IT if he could help, and I’ve also turned to chatGPT to try and give me some code that works.

I know some Python but I’m clueless with javascript and CSS. Is there anyone that can help me?

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

It might be possible with some JavaScript with Harlowe, maybe turning it into a json file. (Sorry I can’t be of help in that regard either).

If you are not set on only using Harlowe as a format, I know it is possible in the SugarCube format (since Chapel made a custom macro for it).

1 Like

Is the goal to report this info back to you? You might want to search around for “Twine analytics” or “Twine metrics”, e.g. this thread: Metrics on clicks through story

1 Like

It can be done, Eva, but it’s not something native to any Twine story format.