Enchanter-style Magic

Hello, citizens of intfiction.org! Sorry I didn’t introduce myself earlier, I kinda made this account at the last minute and didn’t have time to set it up all the way. Short intro: I am an aspiring hobbyist IF author with high-functioning Autism and i LOVE text adventures! I make stuff in Inform 7 almost every day to practice for a big project I have in mind.

Now, here’s my question.

I want to create an IF where the player has access to a list of magic spells that do different things depending how they’re used, in the style of an old text adventure called Enchanter. Anyone familiar with that game? FROTZ makes things light up, NITFOL lets you talk to animals, REZROV opens locks, OZMOO will bring you back if you die a certain way, etc…

How would I go bout writing my own spells for my game and their appropriate functions?

Instead of strange acronyms I want to give them actual, simple one-or-two word names.

Here’s some examples:

SUMMON - Use this along with the name of a familiar or other magical creature you know of to call them to you.
NOLOCK - Like Enchanter’s REZROV, opens or removes the lock on a door or other object.
FEATHER - Put a living person or creature to sleep. UNFEATHER will wake them up, or you can let them wake up on their own.
PAWSPEAK - Talk to an animal, like Enchanter’s NITFOL.
MISTCHIME - Make yourself or someone else calm down. Works only if you or someone else is already experiencing some form of anxiety.

I’d love some advice, thank you fellow authors!

PRESS BOOKMARK BUTTON, EXIT BUTTON

3 Likes

What you need to do is make a separate action for each spell. If you’re unfamiliar with actions, they’re basically the things the player can do in a game, like TAKE something, GO a direction, PUT something IN something, etc. You should go over Chapters 7 & 12 in Writing with Inform. That’ll set you on your way. Come back if something doesn’t make sense.

2 Likes