Doing an Inventory Check?

So, I’m just starting out writing with Inform 7. I’m stuck however on one part as I’m writing.
What I have is a door that will only open once you have these two statues you’ve collected. However, everytime I try to run the line, it treats the two figures I describe like one.

Instead of talking to the monstrous face when player is holding bronze figurine of a man and bronze figurine of a woman: say "The stone face smiles widely. 'Ahch! Now that[']s the stuff! Put em [']ere in front of me so I can look at them.' You comply, putting the two figurines down in front of him. The door to the cage opens widely, enough for you to get the barrel out"; now bronze figurine of a man is in dump; now bronze figurine of a woman is in dump; now monstrous stone face is opened.

How can I get it so that it checks for the two items in the inventory?

Instead of talking to the monstrous face:
    if the player is holding the bronze figurine of a man and the player is holding the bronze figurine of a woman:
        say "The stone face smiles widely. 'Ahch! Now that[']s the stuff! Put em [']ere in front of me so I can look at them.' You comply, putting the two figurines down in front of him. The door to the cage opens widely, enough for you to get the barrel out";
        now bronze figurine of a man is in dump;
        now bronze figurine of a woman is in dump;
        now monstrous stone face is open.

EDIT: also note that the last line should be “…is open”, not “…is opened”. Also, “talking to” is not a built in action, so if you haven’t defined it, this code won’t work at all.

Thank you! It worked like a charm.

And I took care of the open part. “Talking to” was already defined a lot earlier in the game

One other thing I forgot to mention: if the dump is a room you’ve made to put things that should no longer be in the game world, you don’t need it. Inform has a way to do this already:

remove the bronze figurine of a man from play;