Disco Elysium

Does anyone know what programming language was used to make Disco Elysium?
I don’t mean the part of animated graphic RPG, but the management of the textual dialogues.

Thanks!

2 Likes

There’s an interview at https://www.articy.com/en/showcase/disco-elysium/ which indicates that they used Articy as a planning tool. That’s not a programming language, but it lets you specify a lot of the same scene logic stuff.

As far as I’ve heard, the programming was a custom (in-house) engine.

4 Likes

Thanks Andrew, nice to know!

• Marco.
1 Like

My cousin told me about Disco Elysium this summer, and it just became available on Playstation Plus as a free game, so I started playing it. And I played it. And I recognized it as interactive fiction, and in fact, a lot of writing and the advances since 20 or 15 or 10 or 5 years ago, in just the text-part of Disco Elysium, as Interactive Fiction. And it’s a lot of writing. And it’s remarkable and wonderful. And, unfortunately for us in the text-only camp 20 years ago, it’s every advance and it’s got a huge graphic component that is not to be dismissed.

Realisticallly, IF can’t compete with complete Unity IF-in-a-sidebar + complete graphic design and art. But I feel like I’m playing the advancement in the text-box of the art, continguous from when I was really invested in the state of the art.

Rob

5 Likes

I haven’t played it myself, but I know there are people in the IF community who say that, in terms of important mechanics, the graphics are irrelevant and DE is almost equivalent to a text-only game.

It has a whole RPG part, and a card-game part, of 60 stats you can level-up. That change your interactions. And, on the fly, you can try to beef them up. And you see it, you get new dialogue choices. And, you get new dice roll modifiers.