Developer Diary #2 - Code vs Configuration

For my second developer diary, I’d like to jump into some of the implementation details of my game, Tragic. I’m not going to assume the reader has any coding background, but I will be popping some snippets from the implementation in here that will be more or less readable to you based on your background.

Creating a Card Game

I mentioned before that I work in the games industry as an engineer. Part of my job involves interviewing engineering candidates for positions at my company. During these interviews one of the things I frequently ask is for the candidate to design and architect a card game and then sell me on this architecture. While I had my own considered answer, I had never before written a card game more complicated than Blackjack. Part of the motivation of writing Tragic was to put my theories to the test.

My main thesis was that the proper way to work with cards that have flexible effects was to use a component based architecture (I’ll define that a little later in this post). During last year’s competition I was forming the ideas for the game and I talked them over with a friend of mine. He also had some clever ideas about how I could pull some of the logic out of the game code and put it into configuration files. With these ideas in mind, I got to work.

Game State

Let’s first take a step back. A computer is nothing more than a state machine. All this means is that it stores some data that is completely static at any one point in time (the state) and at some defined frequency it looks at that data and potentially changes it based on a set of rules (the machine). Computer programs, and thus computer games are state that effects how the machine works.