Detective Osiris: The Post-Mortem

Hello!

Now that the dust has begun to settle on the contest, and the scores are nearly out, I thought I’d take a moment to reflect on Detective Osiris. As a first time IFComp entrant, this process certainly inspired lots of thoughts for me, and I wanted to share them. That said, if you’re the kind of person who thinks authors should never talk about their work, this thread is probably not for you. I’m going to gaze fully into navel. I’m going to talk about how the sausage is made. I’m going to “ruin” it. But if you have played already, or you’re just curious, then read on!

Introduction

Firstly, a bit about me. I’m a self-published author, of a couple of novels and some short fiction, but it isn’t my day job (nor is it profitable or money-making in any way - I do it for the love of writing). I began releasing micro interactive fiction experiences this year, most of which were created in Twine. In fact, Detective Osiris was the second thing I ever made in Ink, and my first Ink project was an extremely different kind of thing.

Going from my existing work, which were all ten minutes or less of gameplay, and all relatively linear, to Detective Osiris, which offers a variety of conversations, potentially multiple times, in a variety of potential orders, was definitely a bit different.

All that is to basically say: I bit off more than I’ve personally chewed before, even though I now recognise that the structure of Detective Osiris isn’t actually that complicated compared to many other entries.

So, why do this at all?