Defining Variables and Lists

Hello, I’m new to programming in Inform 7. I am a veteran programmer, and I know many languages. Somebody showed me the source code to an Inform 7 program, and I thought it was so ridiculously verbose and obtuse that I had to give it a try.

Right now, I am completely stuck when it comes to creating variables, lists and tables.

The documentation seems to suggest that the following should be valid:

let Messages be a list of text;

add "...." to Messages;

add "..." to Messages;

add "..." to Messages;

However, the compiler complains about not understanding “let”. This is the case if I use “let” for anything.

For instance this is illegal as well, apparently:

let X be 5;

If I try this instead:

Messages is a list of text;

The compiler complains that “list of text” is a type, and so can’t be used in an assignment.

How is this done?

The problem isn’t your syntax, but (I’m guessing) that you’re using these phrases in a context where Inform expects an assertion or a rule header. (If you are unfamiliar with the idea of assertions and rules, see sections 2.1 and 2.2 in the documentation.) Basically, you’re writing procedural code without any wrapper to tell Inform what function it should belong to.

If you want to do something as part of a rule, you can use that “let…” syntax. If you are trying to create a global list variable, then you need an assertion, and the form needs to be “a list of text that varies”.

The following code demonstrates:

[code]Foo is a room.

[Here’s a rule:]
Every turn:
let Messages be a list of text;
add “…” to Messages;
add “…” to Messages;
add “…” to Messages;
say “Messages are: [Messages][line break]”;
say “Other Messages are: [Other Messages][line break]”;

[Here’s an assertion:]
Other Messages is a list of text that varies. Other Messages is { “bar”, “baz” }

Test me with “z”. [/code]