Darren's Commercially Free Music

Hello Everyone!

My name is Darren and I’m a freelance composer. Over the last few years I’ve been writing free to use music in my off time for anyone to use in their projects, even commercially. Currently, I have just over 150 tracks spanning multiple genres available to download here: darrencurtismusic.com

Each track you download comes with a signed Materials Release so you can prove you have my permission to use the music, should you ever need to.

Here’s one of my most recent releases.

“Eternal Sleep” is a sad medieval type track featuring the Bazantar.

If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to write me and I’ll get back to you as soon as I’m able. I hope everyone enjoys and finds something useful

Best wishes,
Darren

9 Likes

Hi Darren,

Some of these are excellent! Thanks for making these available.

2 Likes

I noticed in the FAQ that you say

however, I am choosing to give away many of those rights under a “Creative Commons: By Attribution” license.

Which is great! But can you please specify the version number and link to the license URL.

However… I’m not sure the CC BY license is actually compatible with what you write just before:

The only things you can’t do are … attempt to resell it as part of your own resources. You may NOT license this music to anyone or try to sell the rights to others.

Explicitly using Creative Commons licenses is great because it means everyone knows exactly what is granted by the license and that they won’t be caught out by anything weird in the small print. So it’s great that you want to use a CC license. But I’m not sure the CC BY license actually does what you want it to. Maybe there’s another CC family license which would suit your intentions better? If you have further questions on CC licenses, this is a great site to ask about them:

2 Likes

@jkj_yuio You’re welcome! Thank you for the kind words! I hope a few of them are able to help!