Cyberspace as a place and a Cyberdeck as an Item

Hi,

I’m relatively new to Inform 7, and I’m learning as I go. I’ve been tinkering with a cyberpunk setting for a project, but I cannot solve this problem no matter how hard I try to bash my head against it. In brief, I would like to figure our how to code the following:

1. Cyberdecks are items (the one I have in my project is an Ono Sendai Cyberspace 7, but I think I know how to get Inform 7 to understand it as a cyberdeck).
  2. Cyberdecks are carryable.
  3. Cyberdecks are enterable.
  4. Cyberdecks lead to Cyberspace with a command like “jack in”.
  5. Cyberspace is a room separate from any other room (leading to other parts of Cyberspace, each of them a room connected only to other rooms in Cyberspace).
  6. “Jack out” moves the player from cyberspace to the location where they jacked in.

Is there any way to set this up in Inform 7? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

–A.

2 Likes

I’m on my phone now so can’t easily write up a bunch of code, but yeah, this shouldn’t be too hard! Personally the way I’d manage things is to have a separate “avatar” character who runs around in cyberspace while the player’s meat body stays put. The instead of making the deck enterable is just create a new “jack in” command that says “now the player is avatar” or something like that (“jack out” would likewise just need a “now the player is meat-body”, or however you want to name it). There are a lot of advantages to doing things this way, like not needing to manually keep track of the player’s location or moving their possessions around.

Mapping cyberspace connections to only attach to other cyberspace areas should be easy; you can also define regions if you want the rules to be different there vs in the real world.