Curses is too hard for us — is it worth playing with a walkthrough?

My girlfriend and I recently started playing Curses because, well, it sounded really fun and interesting, we love literary references (I’m a sucker for The Waste Land), and we thought it would be cool playing such a seminal work. The problem is…

We suck at puzzles.

We knew it would be incredibly difficult going in, but neither of us realized just how difficult. We simply don’t have the ability to do the kind of lateral thinking leaps in logic that are necessary for this game. How were we supposed to know that we needed to punch the window in Alison’s secret writing room to get out, or drive the grass roller onto the lawn and crush a priceless family heirloom to find a well, or try walking through a tent wall in a dream, or push a random potted plant out of its position to find a secret entranceway, or go back in and force Madame Sosostris to give us another fortune, or talk to the hole instead of the mouse to somehow project our voice farther? All of these sort of have a logic to them after the fact, but only in the loosest most stream of consciousness way, so that they’re kind of like an NP problem: easy to verify once you have the correct solution (it sort of makes sense) but impossible to get to from the other side by forward logic. Especially since a lot of the time the actions required of us might make sense if we were in the Great Underground Empire, but completely break the atmosphere and sense of character of a mannered, respectable aristocratic English family and setting, where smash and grabbing from your own house isn’t exactly a regular activity.