Creating the command "Talk to [someone] about [something]"

Besides wanting to know how such a command can be created, I also need help on how I can make the character reply upon recognizing the topic. I’m new to this and this is my first post here. Any help will be appreciated. FYI, I want the player to use that command instead of asking, telling, etc.

This could be a way to start:

Talking to it about is an action applying to one thing and one topic.
Understand "talk to [someone] about [text]" as talking to it about. 

Instead of talking to someone about something:
	say "[The noun] doesn't seem to have anything to say about that."

Lab is a room. Jane is a woman in lab.

Instead of talking to Jane about "Emma": say "Jane says, 'One of my finest creations.'"

You might want to look at some of the conversation examples in §7.6-7.8 of the Recipe Book for ways to go on; “Sybil 1” uses the kind of rule that I wrote for Jane’s reply.

Also, if you want to refer to the text the player typed for the [text] token, it’s “the topic understood.”

By the way, if you want the player to type “TALK TO JANE ABOUT EMMA,” you don’t necessarily need a new action. If you write

Understand "talk to [someone] about [text]" as asking it about. 

Lab is a room. Jane is a woman in lab.

Instead of asking Jane about "Emma": say "Jane says, 'One of my finest creations.'"

then TALK TO JANE ABOUT EMMA will be understood. So will ASK JANE ABOUT EMMA but usually it’s desirable to capture more plausible synonyms for the same action.

1 Like

Problem solved, thank you!
But now, how do I code a response for unimportant words? I tried using
Instead of asking guard about “[something]”:
say “xyz”
But that didn’t work.

UPDATE:
I used your first suggestion this time. And instead of using tokens (that’s where I went wrong) , I just typed “Instead of talking to someone about something”, and now it works just fine.