Create custom characters in Inform 7

Hello guys! I am just starting out with Inform 7 and it looks to be great! While I can get the player to move between rooms, want I really want to do is let the player create a full character and then use “Instead of examining the player” to describe who you are! The game would include name, gender, age (teen, adult, codger), race (elf, ork, human, hobbit, etc), and skin colour, and this would effect the way people talk to you in game: “Hello (lad\lass\mate\me’ lady\granddad\grandma)!” Ultimately I want to create a simple but fairly imersive RPG.

Is there any way to do this? basically I want to have the player chose “New game, continue, exit” then in New game pick a gender, name (with proper capitalisation), and so on in order. I found a way of doing any one of these things on its own in the Cookbook, but I can’t work out how to make it do all of them in sequence. Anyone know how I could do this? Preferably I’d like a method I can expand as much as I want without too much fiddling. :mrgreen:

First: Inform 7 questions should go on the Inform subforum, not the General Design one.

Second: it’s helpful to post the relevant code that you’ve already got, so that people can see where your question is coming from.

Third: the following is just a hackup of Baritone, Bass.

Gender is a kind of value. The genders are masculine, feminine, and unknown. Understand "male" or "man" or "M" as masculine. Understand "female" or "woman" or "F" as feminine.

Race is a kind of value. The races are Human, Superfluous Elf, Moomin, Fudge Golem, Tripelganger, and Concern Troll.

A person has a gender. The gender of the player is unknown.

Characteristic is a kind of value. The characteristics are sex, [...other values here...], ethnicity and irrelevance.

Current character-definition is a characteristic that varies. Current character-definition is sex.

When play begins: 
    now the command prompt is "Please choose a gender for your character. >".