Create an easy dialogue system

Hello there!
I’m new here, I hope I won’t mess up anything with this post.
I have a pretty simple issue, but I suspect the solution won’t be so simple.

I want to create an interactive dialogue system, but I don’t want to have tons of branches on Twine for every single choice the player makes.
Here a pretty brilliant dialogue just to explain myself even more:
NPC “Hello, how are you?”
Player answer 1: “Fine”
Player answer 2: “Not so good”
NPC answer 1: “Good for you than!”
NPC answer 2: “I’m sad for you”

Obviously the NPC will reply accordingly to the player answer, different choices will appear to the player to go forward on the dialogue and so on. Classic

Now, I must say I have no knowledge in programming. So, is there some code I could just ctrl+c ctrl+v somewhere? :smiley:

Thank you very match for the help and patience!

2 Likes

Given your own dialogue written here, there is not an easy answer to copy and paste. However, making a simple dialogue system using Twine is not very complicated nor requires much programming language. All you need to know is the use of double square brackets around words and phrases to make links.

For your example, the following could be in a passage:

“Hello, how are you?”
[[“Fine”]]
[[“Not so good”]]

The NPC asked the question and the player could respond through clicking on one of the links created. That’s what the double square brackets around text does: it creates a link for a player. It also, in the Twine 2 editor, creates (if it did not exist) or connect (if it does) one passage to another.

You can think of passages as sections within a story. They might be scenes, places, or even just ways to break up the organization of the story. In this example, each dialogue choice would be its own passage. Putting double square brackets around the text would “connect” the passage to another with that exact name.