Could TADS 3 serve as a suitable "engine" for a Myst-style game?

I am planning a Myst-style game, with pre-rendered graphics. Users eight click the edge of the screen to rotate the view, e.g. clicking the right side of the screen shows a new view of what is to the right. Clicking ahead, such as on a path, moves the character to a new location. Like Myst, no inventory is used, but puzzles might help unlock new regions.

I notice that TADS 3 already has the code handling many things needed, such as doors that are locked, or puzzles that unlock new areas. I also have read something in the documentation called “Banners” that lets graphics appear in TADS.

Is there a way to have TADS 3 run with the the text all hidden, and only images of the locations displayed full-size in the window? Would TADS 3 serve as a viable engine for a Myst game? What limitations of the system might I run into?

I’m no pro at the “low-level” stuff, but I feel like it’s reasonable to think you could do that. I don’t see why your code couldn’t strictly display different images rather than text…

Also I haven’t played Myst, so I don’t exactly know what kind of interaction you’re looking for…

TADS is intended to be used for text adventures; while it may support graphics, that is as a supplement to the text, not as a complete replacement for it.

This isn’t to say that you couldn’t do it, but there are many things that can be done that don’t really make sense.

If you’re wanting to write a purely graphical game, there are other engines that are better suited to the job, like Unity or Adventure Game Studio.

3 Likes

Why use TADS? What value is the parser going to add to the experience? This is the main question in my opinion aside from what you meant by Myst-style game. While there are games with location graphics that were parser-based, Myst belongs to the point and click genre - as it was mouse driven.