Comp Entries that Run on a Server

I’ve been alerted that many IFComp judges prefer to play games in their Web browser. I’d like to know more about how the process of hosting the entries works. Will the Comp provide hosting on a server for all entries? If so, is there some form of technical support that will be available to insure that the games run properly from Day 1 of the voting?

I’m working on a TADS 3 game, and it can be compiled to run on a server, but how that works may be different from a Twine game or something else, and I have no knowledge of what the differences might be. So it would be nice to learn more about it.

2 Likes

The games are web-hosted on the IFComp server during the run of the Comp. As long as you can upload an HTML file or a zip with index.html in the top layer, the “play online” button will automatically appear. The zip can include support folders and other files for download as long as index is in the top layer.

They will be removed after the Comp and redirect to IFDB so this won’t be a permanent home.

And as long as you have an intent in, you can upload test copies of your game way before the deadline, preview how it looks on the site, and playtest to make sure how/if everything is working. I highly recommend doing so even if the game isn’t done just to work out bugs. Another option they give you is to host the game yourself somewhere and provide an HTML document with a link as the upload if you want it on itch.io or your own personal website.

In my experience, the IFComp staff has been very helpful troubleshooting one-on-one via email and in group emails with support and instructions before the games are released and all throughout the comp.

1 Like

Thanks, Hanon. I’m trying to think ahead on this, so as not to put months of work into writing a game and then find that I’ve blindsided myself.