Chapbook

This is probably going to be a very short thread. I am trying to use Chapbook instead of Harlowe and I simply can’t find the way how to input player’s name. I know the macro in Harlowe, but I like the default format of Chapbook - its background is white, which is a nice contrast to Harlowe’s black and good for inserting hand-drawn line images. I am quite new to Twine and can use only very simple programming. On the top of that, there seems to be so little meta-data about Chapbook. Can anybody help me, please?

2 Likes

The Text Input section of the Chapbook Guide suggests that it’s

What is your name?

{text input for: 'playerName'}
1 Like

If you chose chapbook over harlowe for the only reason of the white background, you can add in any harlowe style sheet:

tw-story {color:black;
  background-color: white;}

Then your story will show black on white.

1 Like

@souppilouliouma

I thought the same thing at first about simply changing the CSS of Harlowe, but to be completely honest, I waffled between Chapbook and Harlowe when I chose my first story format. Now that I’m more versed in Twine programming, I admire Chapbook a bit more. It always lingers in the back of mind to maybe switch over, but Harlowe has a certain elegance to it and so far it hasn’t held me back at all.

@Eudokimos

I would say there is more community support for Harlowe, but it sounds like you want to try something new. I really like your desire to use hand-drawn art. That makes me think of the old Golden Axe game…

Do that! Do exactly that! :wink:

Make sure you don’t require anything that Harlowe provides that Chapbook might not. Take the time to create a test story and explore all the different ways you might want to have the user interact with it. Then you’ll know.

I will say this, I really like Chapbook’s manual. It’s very well done and beginner friendly. Harlowe’s is very confusing at first and can be very hard to find things in. Good luck on your game!

1 Like