Changing tenses of builtin messages during a game.

Hi,
I’m new to Inform7 so I apologize in advance if this is a dumb question. In the game I am writing, I would like the first section to be in the past tense, and then change to the present tense after a certain point. This would require changing many default library messages (or overriding them?) since they are written in the present tense; and then changing the messages again when we move to the present. I saw Ron Newcomb’s extension to override the library messages, but is it possible to change them based on what scene or room we are in?

One way would be to create say-phrases that tacks on a suffix or prints the appropriate pronoun, like so:[code]
To say e-s:
if the flashback scene is happening, say “ed”;
otherwise say “e”.

To say You:
if the flashback scene is happening, say “I”;
otherwise say “You”.

To say you:
if the flashback scene is happening, say “I”;
otherwise say “you”.
[/code] So it could be used like, "[You] wav[e-s] the torch in a wide arc."

David Fisher’s Custom Library Messages can do this stuff out-of-the-box, though it’ll eat Z-machine memory if you’re aiming at that. I have plans to re-create CLM in a lightweight way, but I have a lot of other things on my plate right now.

Thanks Ron, I didn’t expect such a quick response!

I haven’t written them out yet, but I expect most of the messages to be too different between the scenes for simple [e-s] substitution to cover it. I’ll take a look at CLM: it’s not a big deal to me right now whether the game will fit in zcode.

OK, I think I found a hack of Ron’s library that will let me do want I want with the least amount of pain. The basic idea is instead of using a constant table for our lookups, we make the library use a variable table. So after the definition of the table of custom library messages in Ron’s extension file we add this line: