Changing an object's state with a newly created verb

Hello. I’m a bit of a noob when it comes to Inform and I’m slowly learning.

Right now I’m trying to create an object with two states and I want to be able to change those states with a new command.

Here is what I have so far:

[code]Flattening on is an action applying to one visible thing. Understand “squash” or “break down” or “flatten” as flattening on.

A box is a kind of supporter. A box is either fixed in place or portable. A box is usually fixed in place. A box is either assembled or flattened. A box is usually assembled.[/code]

And here is my attempt to alter the state:

Check flattening on the cardboard box: if the cardboard box is flattened: say "It doesn't get any flatter than this."; stop the action; if the cardboard box is assembled: now the cardboard box is flattened; say "Your [noun] is nice and flat"; continue the action.

I don’t get any compiling errors, but when I try to flatten a box I get this:

This must be possible because I figured out how to change the fixed in place and portable state. I just can’t figure out how to make it work. Thanks in advance!

I should also note that I did identify the cardboard as a kind of box.

I think you need to tell the parser to expect a noun in the command, something like:

Understand "flatten [something]" as flattening on.

As an aside, you may want to consider putting the code which actually carries out the flattening (the seconfd part of your “check” rule) in a “carry out” rule rather than a check rule.

Robert Rothman

[Edited to add erroneously omitted brackets]

Robert pointed out the error. And he’s right that it’s not a good idea to put code that alters the state of the model world in a Check rule.