Blorb names going forward

I thought it would be good with a list of blorb-names so we know which ones are used by which development system. Especially as new systems might want to use blorb-files too, and it would be convienient if they all had different names.

I am not an expert but will update this list in this first post whenever someone wants me to correct it.
I am also aware, that to some extend, the practical use is a little against the original intention but the original specification could quickly be updated if anyone thinks that is a problem.

EDIT: List modified and and split into “known use” and “intended use” following Angstsmurf’s and Zarf’s input.

Known use of blorb file suffixes
.zblorb / .zlb: Only z-machine games
.gblorb / .glb: Only Glulxe games
.blb / .BLB: Generic use such as Infocom games, early inform games or pure media
.blorb: So far only ADRIFT 5 games and JACL games

Intended use of blorb file suffixes
.zblorb / .zlb: Only z-machine games
.gblorb / .glb: Only Glulxe games
.blorb / .blb / .BLB: Generic use such as Infocom games, early inform games or pure media

Last time I tried to search the internet for the “.blorb” extension, I could only find it used for ADRIFT games. I have never seen an uploaded .blorb-file that wasn’t an ADRIFT game. I thus propose to adapt this extension for ADRIFT and recommend new tools to call them something else, such as .tblorb for TADS etc.

Would that be possible?

I know that the person behind ADRIFT could just have called it .ablorb or something (though it might be intended for ALAN perhaps?) but Campbell Wild behind ADRIFT has been working for free on ADRIFT for 20 years and is now very busy so we can’t expect him to change that and that would also be a problem for all the games that were published as .blorb-files. Changing this would just cause more confusion I think.

3 Likes