Basics (Need Some Help I7)

Hello, I’m just getting into inform for the first time, and I’m having a bit of trouble right from the start. I’m wondering about promting at the first of the game. I want an intro text before anything else.

I typed

say " … "

and pressed the go button, but I got this error.

Problem. You wrote ‘say “Hello”’ : but I can’t find a verb here that I know how to deal with, so I am ignoring this sentence altogether.

Thanks in advanced,
Jb.

That’s a common mistake.

Inform works by invoking a number of rules (normally) organized in “rulebooks”. It goes through the relevant rulebooks in order and if it finds a rule in the rulebook that applies to the state the game is in, that rule is run.

So to make the game say anything, you have to put the say-phrase inside a rule, such as

When play begins: say "Hello world!"

(EDIT: “When play begins” is the name of a rulebook.
A line that starts with the name of rulebook and a colon creates a new rule in the rulebook specified. The content of that new rule is whatever comes after the colon.)

Note that you also have to create a room, for the game to compile at all.

This should work:

The World is a room.
When play begins: say "Ciao mondo!"

Awesome, that worked great. I’m gonna keep going trough the documentation. I just jumped the gun here at the first because I wanted to start, lol.

My Inform Handbook (musicwords.net/if/i7hb.htm) hasn’t been updated to cover a few features in the latest versions, but it’s designed to help you grasp the basics.

–JA

I strongly recommend you pick up the book “Creating Interactive Fiction with Inform7” by Aaron Reed. You can get electronic or printed versions via Amazon etc. It’s a great book to introduce Inform7 and how to write interactive fiction.

More info and links available here:
z-machine-matter.com/2010/10 … form7.html
–Zack